ATV-All Terrain Vehicle Safety (Ages 11 & Up)
If you are interested in driving an ATV in Minnesota and you are between 11-16 years old, you are required to take the ATV Safety course. Upon completion, the student will receive a certificate that is honored in most states including Iowa and Wisconsin. OHM operators under 16 years old are required to have an OHM Certificate to operate on public lands, frozen waters, and state or grant-in-aid trails in Minnesota. DNR ATV/OHM Safety Training class includes topics on: basic operation, common parts and controls, operating safely and responsibly, trail riding, rules and laws, riding skills and protecting the environment.
- Complete the MN ATV/OHM Rider’s Safety Class online at: Offroad-ed.com (the fee for the online course is $29.50) for students 11-16 years old. DNR Information Center number is 888-646-6367 or 651-296-6157 for questions.
Part 2 takes place on May 5th. You MUST BE 11 years of age or older BEFORE the class start date to be eligible to take this class. Students under 11 may attend with instructor permission and a few accommodations. Class will include safety techniques, riding methods, legal requirements, first aid, and hands-on riding skills. Parents must accompany their child to class to sign the DNR forms. Class is taught by DNR Safety Instructors. Bring your lunch including beverage. The classroom instruction will be held in the cafeteria at Mayo and the driving test will be held on the west practice field. Students can bring their own ATV to class. Please bring a helmet and birth certificate and a printed copy of the completion certificate to class.